planets in astrology

Introduction to planets in astrology

 Astrology has captivated the human imagination for centuries. Its origins can be traced to ancient civilizations, and it has evolved with cultural, spiritual, and entertainment value. In astrology, “planets” play a significant role in shaping a person’s astrological profile and influencing their personality, behaviour, and life events. In this article, we will deep dive into the fascinating world of astrology and explore the planets and their unique energies. 

The Sun 

Sun is associated with ego, confidence, and our basic personality how other people see us. Usually, when someone asks about our sign they are actually asking about our sun sign. The sun also represents government, authoritative positions, masculinity and leadership. 

 The sun rules the zodiac sign Leo (the fire sign) and exalts in Aries (the fire sign). Sun rules over metals like copper and gold. Sun governs the 5th house in the astrology.

Time to transit between zodiac signs- 1 month

The Moon

The moon represents the mind and emotions. Moon also represents mother or motherly nature and the inner world of the person. The moon sign focuses on the inner world and reveals our emotional core.

 The moon rules the zodiac sign Cancer (the water sign) and 4th house in astrology and is exalted in Taurus (the earth sign)

Time to transit between zodiac signs- 2 to 3 days 


This planet governs our ability to communicate effectively and process information. It affects how we think, learn, and communicate. It acts like a prince in a celestial cabinet and it doesn’t act independently. Mercury also represents youthfulness and tremendous memory.

 Mercury rules the zodiac signs Gemini (the air sign) and Virgo (the earth sign) and 3rd and 6th house in astrology and exalted in Virgo ( the earth sign).

Time to transit between zodiac signs- 3 to 4 weeks


Venus represents love beauty and finances that’s why knowing your partner’s Venus sign helps you to know how they prefer to be loved. Venus is also associated with the arts like dance, music, poetry etc. and aesthetics. In Hinduism this planet is known as the goddess Laxmi, greeks know it as Aphrodite and Babylonians know it as Nana. 

Venus represents the feminine energy and rules the zodiac signs Taurus (the earth sign) and Libra (the air sign) and the 2nd and 7th house in astrology and exalted in Pisces (the water sign).

Time to transit between zodiac signs- 4 to 5 weeks 


Red planet Mars surface. Exploration and expedition on red planet. Elements of this image furnished by NASA (url:

Planet Mars is masculine in nature and belongs to the fire element. In astrology, Mars represents passion, courage, aggression and warrior. The position of Mars in our birth chart can reveal your assertiveness and motivation. It also rules over our sexual needs and provides us with the courage to handle every type of situation.

Mars rules the zodiac signs Aries (the fire sign) and Scorpio (the water sign) and 1st and 8th house in astrology and exalted in Capricorn (the earth sign)

Time to transit between zodiac signs- 6 to 7 weeks


Jupiter is the biggest planet in our solar system and in astrology Jupiter denotes our faith and belief system. Astrologers consider it the luckiest planet in astrology. It is a planet of wisdom, growth, knowledge adventure, philosophy and optimism. The position of Jupiter in our chart can indicate where you may experience luck and abundance in life.

Jupiter rules the zodiac signs Sagittarius (the fire sign) Pisces (the water sign) and the 9th and 12th house in astrology. Jupiter exalted in cancer (the water sign).

Time to transit between zodiac signs- 2 to 3 years


Saturn is a planet surrounded by rings. Saturn is the planet of justice, discipline, restriction, traditions, limitations and karma. Detachment, stability, spirituality and sincerity are influenced by Saturn. It also represents structure, challenges, and life lessons.

Saturn rules the zodiac signs Capricorn (the earth sign) and the 10th and 11th house in astrology. It exalted in libra.

Time to transit between zodiac signs- 2 to 3 years


Uranus was the first planet to be discovered through a telescope in 1781. Uranus represents originality, inventions, technologies and future events. Uranus is an unpredictable planet that hates rules. Freedom and creativity are important to Uranus. It represents individuality and the urge for freedom and revolution. 

It rules the zodiac sign Aquarius (the air sign) and it is exalted in Scorpio

Time to transit between zodiac signs- 7 years


Neptune is linked to dreams, spirituality, abstract thoughts, magic, mystery and illusion. It influences one’s imagination, creativity, fantasy, delusion and connection to the mystical. Neptune rules over the spirit world and all the energies which are unseen.

It rules the zodiac sign pieces (the water sign) and is exalted in Leo (the fire sign).

Time to transit between zodiac signs- 14 years


Four images from New Horizons’ Long Range Reconnaissance Imager (LORRI) were combined with color data from the spacecraft’s Ralph instrument to create this enhanced color global view of Pluto.

Pluto is still considered a planet in astrology. Pluto is associated with transformation, creation, regeneration, power, and rebirth. It represents deep psychological processes and the potential for profound change. Pluto also rules destruction, death, obsession, crime and underworld.

 It rules the zodiac sign Scorpio (the water sign) and the 8th astrological house. 

Time to transit between zodiac signs- 12 to 31 years


These planets, along with their positions in the 12 astrological houses and their aspects to each other, form the basis for interpreting an individual’s birth chart and providing insights into their personality, strengths, challenges, and life paths according to astrology. It’s important to note that astrology is a belief system and not a science.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *